As appeared in Multiplicity Magazine, Summer 2013 issue
Written By: Nellie Harden

“There were more colors than I had ever seen before and it was so beautiful! I heard music and I was warm and happy”. These are the words of my, now five year old, daughter when she described to me her point of view of my worst nightmare.

July 11, 2010 was a pool-side reunion at my in-laws’ home with around 50 in attendance. The sun was out, the laughter was flowing and reminiscent talk was echoing from one conversation to the next. My husband and I were in the pool talking and intermittently playing with our four year old and twin two year old daughters, while holding our newest addition as she discovered this larger-than-life bathtub.

The veil of serenity was suddenly pierced with a few short words muttered by a man I had never met before sitting on the balcony above. “Is she okay down there?”

My husband and I, as though our heads were connected to one body, simultaneously transfixed on a small area of the pool. In what felt like the slowest motion I could fathom, we saw a cloud of long brown flowing hair and the little body of our two year old, Trinity, floating face down. As though with the crack of a whip, the world snapped into wild motion. My husband grabbed and turned over the rag doll body of my moments ago vibrant daughter. Her lips were blue, her skin pale gray and her life was gone from her beautiful hazel eyes.

The poolside table filled with recreational laughing was abruptly interrupted with the immediate need of a work space. My mommy senses were sent to the back of my mind and survival mode stepped forward. There are few things as surreal as giving CPR and breaths to a tiny chest you have given bear hugs to and lips you have kissed so many times. After two rounds, there was a response. Water violently streamed from her, totaling a volume I didn’t think was possible for her body to hold. This was followed by undirected screams and eyes that couldn’t find their balance. Motor skills were lost and though her body was awake, my Trinity wasn’t there yet and it was a painful thought to wonder if she ever would be.

Being so far out into the country, the best option was to drive to the hospital. I sat with her reciting familiar songs to get her to sing along as she was drifting in and out of consciousness. A comfort was given to mewhen she corrected my, “Mary had a little rhinoceros” with “No mommy! Lamb!” One corner of her mouth perked toward a smile. There was hope….

… To continue reading this story and learn of warning signs in the water, turn to page 35 in the Summer issue of Multiplicity Magazine. The best magazine for parent of Multiples. It’s FREE as always.

Nellie Harden has been married for 12 years and is a mom of four little girls, who represent four corners of a square and bring different gifts, energy and challenges to their world. In addition to being a mom, she works with families through JuicePlus to get enough fruits and vegetables into growing and changing bodies every day and enjoy writing about all of life’s avenues.

Tags: Swimming, Swim, Summer, safety, Summer safety, pool, pool safety, water, water safety,